New law simplifies driver licensing process for young adults in foster care

August 2, 2019

Young people in foster care seeking their first Colorado driver license will have a smoother road to becoming fully credentialed starting August 2, 2019.

The Foster Children Driver License Act (House Bill 19-1023), signed into law by Gov. Jared Polis on May 20, 2019, streamlines the process young people in foster care go through when obtaining a  driver license.

The new law, which affects about 500 young people in foster care currently of driving age in Colorado, makes the following changes:  

  • Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship: Instead of requiring a foster parent or other legal guardian to sign an affidavit of liability, young people in foster care are now exempt if they have evidence of financial responsibility (SR-22) in their name. Previously, young people had to have their foster parent or other legal guardian sign an affidavit of liability.
  • Drive time logs: Drive time logs may now be signed by anyone who is older than 21 and has a valid driver license, if that person provided the instruction. Previously, those who signed the drive time logs had to be parent, guardian or another responsible adult who has signed the affidavit of liability. The change gives young people in foster care more flexibility in getting their drive time logs signed. Now aunts, uncles, grandparents, mentors, faith leaders and more can sign the drive time logs if they meet the criteria.
  • Driving instruction: Anyone who is at least 21 years of age and who holds a driver's license may instruct a young person in foster care who has a driving permit. Previously, young people in foster care who had an instruction permit and were younger than 16 had to be instructed in driving by the person who signed the affidavit of liability. 

Although the licensing process has been streamlined, young people in foster care must still meet the same proficiency standards other Colorado drivers meet.

Prior to the Foster Children Driver License Act, the licensing process was set up for young adults with a more traditional family support system. These changes allow young people in foster care to reach an important milestone despite often not having a traditional support network and faced difficulties meeting Colorado’s Graduated Driver Laws requirements.

Visit www.Colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/foster-children-driver-licenses for more information on the Foster Children Driver License Act (HB 19-1023).

Back to the Blogs
Share:
Colorado Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline
Available 24 hours a day, every day. Don't hesitate to call and get help. 
Anyone witnessing a child in a life-threatening situation should call 911 immediately.